For Ohio policyholders affected by the March storm

Ohio has issued Insurance Bulletin 2019-01 on March 15, 2019, titled State Of Emergency For Ohio Counties Impacted By Severe Storms & Heavy Rains, requesting insurance companies allow insureds to defer premium payments coming due and extend any and all provisions imposing time constraints within which insureds must take certain action for any Ohio insured residing in a county where a disaster has been declared. Although Bulletin 2019-01 specifically mentions payment deferrals only, Actuarial Services believes this should also extend to a cancellation for non-payment of premium moratorium for those insureds located in a county where a disaster has been declared and who have had their ability to timely act or respond to an insurer materially affected by the severe storms and heavy rains that began on February 5, 2019 and lasting through February 13, 2019.

The attached Bulletin 2019-01 contains pertinent details as follows:

1. The Impacted Areas are the following Ohio Counties:

Adams, Athens, Brown, Gallia, Gurnsey, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington

2. The bulletin applies to all personal and commercial lines of business.

3. The Request to defer payments and implied moratorium applies to failure to pay premiums during the grace period. The Division is NOT requesting insurers waive any premiums or other consideration owed on any policy during this time.

4. The State of Emergency order was issued on March 15, 2019, and remains in effect until June 11, 2019.