110 U.S. fire departments win Life Safety Achievement Award

110 U.S. fire departments win Life Safety Achievement Award

The National Association of State Fire Marshals Fire Research and Education Foundation (NASFM Foundation) and Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance Company are pleased to announce that 110 fire departments from 31 states earned the Life Safety Achievement Award for their fire prevention accomplishments in 2016. (See list of award-winning departments below.) For over 20 years, this national award has recognized fire departments for actively promoting fire prevention in the pursuit of saving lives.

To qualify for the award, fire departments recorded zero fire deaths in residential structures or a 10 percent reduction of fire deaths from the prior year. In addition, award recipients documented active and effective fire prevention programs as well as a commitment to reducing the number of house fires in the community.

“Fire departments take pride in what they are doing, and we want to give them the recognition they deserve,” said David Miller, assistant vice president of Special Investigations for Grinnell Mutual. “The Life Safety Achievement Award celebrates fire departments for their efforts in organizing fire safety inspections, offering outreach programs that spread the word about fire safety, and, most importantly, saving the lives of people in their communities.”

 In 2015, there were 1,345,500 fires reported in the United States. According to the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), these fires caused 3,280 civilian deaths, 15,700 civilian injuries, and $14.3 billion in property damage.

“Experience tells us that fire prevention activities and public education can significantly reduce life and property loss from residential fires,” said NASFM Foundation President Butch Browning. “Prevention and education are very cost effective compared to the traditional approach of relying on fire suppression. The Life Safety Achievement Award encourages fire departments to continually improve upon those efforts.”

The 2016 Life Safety Achievement Award recipients named in 2017:


Gulf Shores Fire Rescue

Springville Fire and Rescue


City of Prescott Fire Department


University of California - Irvine


East Great Plain Volunteer Fire Company

Naugatuck Fire Department

Suffield Fire Department

Tolland Fire Department

Woodbridge Volunteer Fire Department


Clermont Fire Department

Greater Naples Fire Rescue District

Maitland Fire Rescue Department

Tamarac Fire Rescue


Peach County Fire Department

Riceboro Volunteer Fire/Rescue Department


Alburnett Fire Department

Bettendorf Fire, Rescue, and Emergency Services

Grinnell Fire Department

Hiawatha Fire Department

Montezuma Fire Department

Onawa Volunteer Fire Department

Palo Fire

Vinton Fire department


Northern Lakes Fire Protection District


Alsip Fire Department

Bourbonnais Fire Protection District

Countryside Fire Protection District

Effingham Fire Department

Gurnee Fire Rescue

Henry Fire Protection District

River Forest Fire Department

Wheeling Fire Department


Andover Fire and Rescue

McPherson Fire Department

Ottawa Fire Department


Bellevue-Dayton Fire Department

Campbell County Fire District  

Milton Fire and Rescue

Owensboro Fire Department


Gonzales Fire Department


Georgetown Fire Department

Merrimac Fire Department

Shrewsbury Fire Department


Winfield Volunteer Fire Department


Fennville Area Fire Department

Norton Shores Fire Department

Olivet Fire Department

Saugatuck Township Fire District

Tittabawassee Township Fire Department

Watersmeet Township Fire Department


Albany Fire and Rescue

Alexandria Fire Department

Andover Fire Department

Avon Fire and Rescue

Braham Fire Rescue

City of Hastings

Cloquet Area Fire District

Eden Prairie Fire Department

Excelsior Fire District

Hopkins Fire Department

Minnetonka Fire Department

Montevideo Fire Department

New Brighton Department of Public Safety

North St. Paul Fire Department

Wayzata Fire

White Bear Lake


Battlefield Fire Protection District

Branson Fire Rescue

Fort Osage Fire Protection District

Kearney Fire and Rescue Protection District

North Carolina

City of Mount Airy

Etowah Horse Shoe Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department

Pinehurst Fire Department

Vance County Fire Department

North Dakota

Garrison Fire Department


Arnold Volunteer Fire Department

Pawnee City Fire Department

Wilcox Volunteer Fire Department

New Hampshire

Salem Fire Department

New Jersey

Berlin Fire Rescue Company


Concord Township Fire Department


Bristol Fire Company

Green Lane Volunteer Fire Company

Millcreek Township Bureau of Fire Prevention

Montgomery Township Fire Rescue

South Carolina

Beaufort / Port Royal Fire Department

Bluffton Township Fire District

Edisto Beach Fire Department

Georgetown City Fire Department

Hilton Head Island Fire Rescue

Long Branch Fire Department

New Holland Volunteer Fire Department

North Myrtle Beach Public Safety

Pickens Fire Department


City of Athens Fire

City of Clinton Fire Department

City of Henderson Fire Department

City of White House Fire Department

Columbia Fire Department

Cumberland County

East Ridge Fire Rescue

Germantown Fire Department

Madisonville Fire-Rescue

Ripley Fire Department

Selmer Fire Department

Sharps Chapel Volunteer Fire Department


Ben Bolt Volunteer Fire Department

Highland Village Fire Dept.

Sheppard Air Force Base Fire Emergency Services


Diamond Valley Fire Department

Lehi Fire Department


City of Staunton Fire and Rescue


Hartford Fire and Rescue

Janesville Fire Department

Middleton Fire District