For Missouri policyholders affected by the recent flooding

Missouri has issued Insurance Bulletin 19-04 on March 19, 2019, titled Assistance to Missouri residents impacted by flooding, requesting insurance companies consider ways they can assist impacted policyholders.  Although Bulletin 19-04 only mentions providing a grace period during which insureds can take actions necessary to keep their policies in force, Actuarial Services believes this should also extend to a cancellation for non-payment of premium moratorium for those insureds located in a county where a disaster has been declared and who have had their ability to timely act or respond to an insurer materially affected by the significant flooding event.

The attached Bulletin 2019-01 contains pertinent details as follows:

1. The Impacted Areas are the following Missouri Counties:

Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Carroll, Chariton, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Franklin, Gasconade, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Marion, Mississippi, Moniteau, Montgomery, New Madrid, Osage, Pemiscot, Perry, Platte, Rawls, Ray, Saline, St. Charles, St. Genevieve, City of Saint Louis, St. Louis County, Scott, Warren

2. The bulletin applies to all personal and commercial lines of business.

3. The Request to defer payments and implied moratorium applies to failure to pay premiums during the grace period. The Division is NOT requesting insurers waive any premiums or other consideration owed on any policy during this time.

4. The State of Emergency order was issued on March 19, 2019, and remains in effect until June 11, 2019.