For Indiana policyholders affected by the storms

Updated March 9th.

Indiana has issued Insurance Bulletin 241 on March 2, 2018, titled Policy Cancellation Moratorium, requesting insurance companies allow coverage to remain in effect for any Indiana insured residing in a county where a disaster has been declared and who had had their ability to timely act or respond to an insurer materially affected by the severe storms, torrential rains, and subsequent flooding beginning on February 15, 2018, and lathing through February 25, 2018, (“Disaster Events”).

The attached Bulletin 241 contains pertinent details as follows:

  1. The Impacted Areas are the following Indiana Counties: Benton, Lake, Carroll, Marshall, Clark, Ohio, Crawford, Perry, Dearborn, Pulaski, Elkhart, Spencer, Floyd, St. Joseph, Fulton, Starke, Harrison, Switzerland, Jasper, Warrick, Jefferson, and White.
  2. The bulletin applies to All personal and commercial lines of business.
  3. The moratorium applies to failure to pay premiums during the grace period.  The Division is NOT requesting insurers waive any premiums or other consideration owed on any policy during this time.
  4. The Policy Cancellation Moratorium order was issued on March 2, 2018, and remains in effect for 60 days. 
  5. The Department of Insurance expects insurers to apply this moratorium retroactively to the day before the Disaster Events occurred in each Impacted Area.