Grinnell Mutual hosts 111th Annual Meeting, elections

Grinnell Mutual hosts 111th Annual Meeting, elections

Grinnell Mutual’s 111th Annual Meeting for its affiliated members convened in Grinnell, Iowa, on June 26, at the Grinnell Mutual Bartelt Conference & Education Center.

Grinnell Mutual President and CEO Jeff Menary presented the State of the Company address, followed by the annual business meeting to elect directors and review the company’s financial statements.

Grinnell Mutual board elections

Dan DeArmentDan DeArment, president and CEO of Friends Cove Mutual (Bedford, Penn.), was elected to fill the seat left vacant by the retirement of Jim Buch, who has served on the board since 2007.

DeArment, who holds a Professional Farm Mutual Manager designation, graduated from Dickinson College with a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and Government and earned a J.D. at Pennsylvania State Dickinson School of Law. He is a past president of the Pennsylvania Association of Mutual Insurance Companies, and current president of the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies Farm Mutual Conference board.

Paul Stueven of Fairmont Farmers Mutual (Fairmont, Minn.) and Susan Taggart of Remington Farmers Mutual (Remington, Ind.) were re-elected for three-year terms ending in June of 2022.

Amy Goughnour of Steele Traill County Mutual (Finley, N.D.), who was appointed by the board in December 2018 to fill a vacancy left by the retirement of Stephen Smith, was elected to serve a three-year term ending in June 2022.

At the board meeting following the Annual Meeting, Stueven was re-elected as board chair. Bill Lampe of Heritage Mutual (Preston, Iowa), stays on as first vice chair and Will Maas of Farmers Mutual (Hull, Iowa) was elected second vice chair.

Meet the board of directors